Introducing Homiliaria

Greetings. This blog is a place where I discuss the history of interpretation of the Christian Scriptures from their composition through the end of the early medieval period. As one of my research interests is scripture interpretation in Anglo-Saxon England (particularly the Benedictine Revival), I will arbitrarily set the end of the early medieval period with the Norman Conquest of England in 1066.

Topics discussed here may range anywhere from codicology to homiletic theory, from Patristics to postmodernism, but will focus around how Scripture was used and experienced in late antiquity and the early medieval periods.  Hermeneutics and the rhetorical/grammatical arts will be central, especially as embodied in the preaching and liturgy of the periods. As my dissertation focuses on homiletics and liturgics in Benectine Revival England, topics relating to Old English literature and Anglo-Saxon culture are also on the table. While I am an active layman in the Episcopal Church, this site is for public discussion of academic topics; church politics will not appear here…

4 comments so far

  1. tiruncula on

    Happy new blog! This is a great idea. I’m very much looking forward to reading more about what you’re up to.

  2. Michelle on

    Good luck with the new blog. I’m trying to add you to my reader but its having trouble. Perhaps the blog is still too new? Anyway, I look forward to reading more medieval stuff! I think you have inspired me to split the modern or transitional stuff out of Heavenfield into a new spirituality/liturgy blog…so stay tuned.

  3. swain on

    Well Done, Derek, looking forward to reading more! Say, coming to Congress this year, or shall we toast you in absentia AGAIN?

  4. B. Hawk on

    I’ll add my voice to those who have already expressed excitement about reading this blog! My interests also lie in the territory of early English Christianity, so this blog is an exciting new one to read and nourish my mind.


Leave a Reply

